{Faith} The Empty World of Comparison.

By: Mandy Hill

We’re not, understand, putting ourselves in a league with those who boast that they’re our superiors. We wouldn’t dare do that. But in all this comparing and grading and competing, they quite miss the point. (2 Corinthians 10:12)

Tonight while dressing my oldest boy for bed, he made a comment that got me thinking…

“I wish I was as fast a runner as Charlie.”

I was saddened by his feeling like he was inadequate because he was a little slower than a fellow classmate. My heart bursts with pride when I look at him, and I consider it one of life’s greatest treasures to be his mommy.

image

Before I uttered a word in response I silently prayed; “Lord, help me, to help him.” And as quickly as I prayed this prayer The Lord revealed how very similar my son and I are when it comes to comparing ourselves to others. In fact, I had done so this very day.

You see, from the outside looking in, I am fully aware of how detrimental it is to compare myself to someone else. “I am fearfully and wonderfully made; Your works are wonderful, I know that full well.” (Psalm 139:14) I know that the Lord made me, me, because that was how He saw best. I am good at what I’m good at because that is what He choose; likewise I am weak in other areas so I may humbly serve alongside others.

I reached out my hand and said, ‘Ben, you don’t have to run fast like Charlie to be awesome! God made you the very best YOU for a very special reason. You’ll always find other people who’ll be better at things than you are, but just do your best, always; because being the best you is all God ever asks us to be!”

Do you compare yourselves with others often, sister? The world of comparison is a very empty one- you will always come up short. The truth is, however, that God made you, YOU, for a very unique and real purpose. Set aside some time today to lay down your comparisons and seek God for the purpose he created you to fulfill.

Heavenly Father, thank You for these precious moments where You teach me and direct my words. I pray, dear Jesus, that you will encourage my sisters who are stuck in the empty world of comparison. Allow the truth that you made her, her, uniquely and on purpose to overcome the need to compare. I ask these things in your name, amen.

Leave a Reply

