{Ministry Mom} Too Busy to Connect.

Written By: Mandy Hill

As they continued their travel, Jesus entered a village. A woman by the name of Martha welcomed him and made him feel quite at home. She had a sister, Mary, who sat before the Master, hanging on every word He said. But Martha was pulled away by all she had to do in the kitchen. Later, she stepped in, interrupting them. “Master, don’t you care that my sister has abandoned the kitchen to me? Tell her to lend me a hand.”
The Master said, “Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and won’t be taken from her.”
(Luke 10:38-42)

I’ve noticed an ever-growing trend in our culture; the need to be busy, busy, busy.

Culture seems to insist that we need to have our days full; from the moment our eyes open, until we can resist closing them no longer. From a Mommy perspective, there’s school and volunteering at the school, play dates with our preschoolers, sports, clubs, lessons in this and that, church programs, and the many other things we stuff into our jam-packed schedules. Every single thing on our lists has a significant importance. Nothing ever gets cut. If anything, more gets added on.

image

Every morning I go through the same routine. My family and I enjoy breakfast together, my husband then ventures off to work and I clean up from said breakfast. My two older kids will, depending on weather, take some time to ride bikes in our driveway or play in their playroom; my third kiddo toddling around behind me, and the baby content to wait until it gets to be his turn to eat and be dressed for the day. I then call my grandmother- three provinces away- and proceed to make all four of our beds and clean/tidy all three of our rooms, while chatting with her. Once kitchen and bedrooms are to my standard, it’s other things like writing, worship planning, blog administration and the like. Before I know it, we are all sitting down again, to have lunch.

My morning is so crammed up with chores and the like that, if I am honest with myself, barely leaves room for connecting with four of the most valuable gifts I have ever been given. And, usually no room at all for calls or visits of spontaneity from my friends or those who reach out to me.

I began to really think about these things. If someone drops into our home for a visit, why shouldn’t I be ready? What does it matter really, if the bedroom doors are closed and an unmade bed is on the other side of that door. Why should I deny a friend a morning to connect over a coffee if there are a few dishes in the sink? What’s wrong with taking a call from a friend in distress, and turning a blind eye to the chores on my list?

I find our schedules get so busy with ‘stuff’ that we lose sight of the important things. We are so busy trying to keep up with culture, that we have no time left to actually connect. We miss opportunities and divine appointments that truly matter, to keep up with the daily tasks that will soon be forgotten.

We become overwhelmed women, with underwhelmed souls. – Lysa TerKeurst, The Best Yes

What if we took a step back, and like Mary, put our priority on truly making an effort to connect with those precious people in our lives? So many of us are like Martha; too busy just trying to keep up. Jesus very gently corrected Martha in our story by saying: “Martha, dear Martha, you’re fussing far too much and getting yourself worked up over nothing. One thing only is essential, and Mary has chosen it—it’s the main course, and it won’t be taken from her.” (Luke 10:41-42)

Reflecting on your own life, do you relate better with Martha; often finding yourself overwhelmed with trying to keep up? Are you too busy to connect with those in your life? Are you feeling underwhelmed in your soul? What things can you shift around or cut from your week, in order to purposely make time to connect with your loved ones?

Thank You, Jesus, for a reminder to truly focus on what is important. Please help us to place a higher value on connecting than on that of ‘fussing’ and trying to keep up. Thank You in advance for the divine appointments You have planned for our futures. In Jesus name, Amen.

One comment

  1. Great blog my friend, but that bed thing. I make mine just as soon as those feet hit the floor and I’ve washed my face. It just makes that room seem made up. HA! Love this and I really need to make time for friends and coffee. Thanks for the reminder. Love you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

