{Saturdays with Sarah} Hide and Seek.

Written by: Sarah Walker

Yesterday, my daughter asked to play on my iPad. I told her, “Yes, you can have it. It is downstairs on the desk, in front of the computer.”

She went looking for it, but returned shortly, disappointed that she didn’t find it. I went downstairs to help her search for it. It was exactly where I had left it, on the desk in front of the computer. The only thing holding her back from finding it was a single sheet of paper had been sitting on top of it. Had she put in a little effort, really hunted for it, moved the paper, she would have found it instantly, but instead, she merely glanced around for it and, not seeing it on the surface, she carried on her way.

She had looked for the iPad, but she didn’t truly “seek” it.

image

The term “look” means: to direct eyes at something.

On the contrary, the term “seek” means: to go in search (examine something thoroughly) or in quest of something.

But if from there you seek the Lord your God, you will find him if you seek him with all your heart and with all your soul.
(Deuteronomy 4:29)

I’m sad to say that have been times where I may be “looking” for God, but I’m not really “seeking” Him.

I have prayed for things, but I have also been afraid of what the answer might be. I have been fearful that God was going to call me out of my comfort zone, or to give up something that I don’t want to give up, or to change in a way that I don’t want to change. So, even though I looked to God in prayer, I know that I was not really sincerely seeking His answer.

There have been other times that I looked to God in prayer, but I really just wanted to do things my own way. I didn’t really seek His guidance, because I didn’t want to hear “no” to my request.

Then there have been times when I didn’t seek Him solely based on my laziness. Finding God’s will requires patience in prayer, study through His Word, and at times, fasting and petition. James 4:8 tells us that when we draw close to God, He will come near to us, but this requires our time and energy – something that I don’t always want to put in.

In these times, I was clearly putting myself first. I was afraid, I was selfish, or I was not willing to put in the time or effort in truly seeking God.

Against these attitudes, God’s Word is filled with verses that tell us that there is blessing when we seek Him.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and do not lean on your own understanding. In all your ways acknowledge him, and he will make straight your paths. (Proverbs 3:5-6)

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

But seek first his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. (Matthew 6:33)

Delight yourself in the Lord, and he will give you the desires of your heart. (Psalm 37:4)

Grace and peace be yours in abundance through the knowledge of God and of Jesus our Lord. (2 Peter 1:2-3)

And we know that for those who love God all things work together for good, for those who are called according to his purpose. (Romans 8:28)

Reading these, it sure seems funny that at times I have been too afraid, too selfish, too lazy to seek God’s will, when clearly He has my best interest in mind! When I take the time to really seek God through His word and prayer, I am met with confidence that His way is forever the best way. Even through my fears, I can be assured that God will use every situation for His glory. I can trust that His way is always better than my way, and that having a relationship with the God of the universe is continually worth my time and effort!

One comment

  1. I just love Saturday’s with Sarah. You always get me thinking. Am I really seeking you Lord? What hinders me from seeking fully? Great thoughts. Thank you Sarah.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

