{Faith} Stress vs. Faith.

 

Written by: Mandy Lawrence-Hill

Hebrews 11:1 “Now faith is being sure of what we hope for, and confident in what we do not see.”

There are times during the year when my husbands ministry schedule is undoubtedly more busy and stressful than others. When it comes time to organize, plan and launch the small group ministry at our church for another cycle….I feel my own stress rising. There is always the period of time when the small group ministry board is a complete and total disaster. Generally groups do not take their shape until the very final days before our launch. This causes me so.much.stress.

I am honoured to give my husband support and assistance when organizing these groups. However, being in the loop of the upheaval, can sometimes make my stomach upset. There is usually a period of time when it all becomes overwhelming and I would love nothing more than to run to my bed and pull the sheets straight up over my head for several days straight.

image

Small group ministry has been very fruitful for our church. There is definitely good reason to push through the stress in order to reap the benefits that these groups bring to our assembly. I recently saw a quote that is perfect for this stressful time:

“Stress makes you believe that everything has to happen right now. Faith reassures you that everything will happen in God’s timing”

After thinking on this quote for a few days, God began to pull away the debris from the built up stress in my soul. He gently reminded me that He always works the details of this ministry out in HIS time. We are always amazed at how He guides these groups together. We have seen incredible growth in our church family and have come to believe that this ministry serves a purpose bigger than we can even imagine or see. As I meditated on the fruit that He is growing in His people at our church, the stress began to melt away and the peace that soon filled its place carried on my faith and excitement for the days I knew were coming.

2 Corinthians 5:7We live by faith, not by sight.

We will soon be launching our eighth cycle of small groups and the excitement is high! The question marks are plentiful right now but will all be answered soon enough and I am thankful for the way that the Lord will walk me through the stressful season of planning as well as the fruitful season of growth with my group.

He never leaves us; His purpose never wavers. It is up to us to keep our confidence in Him, the one who never forsakes us.

Thank You, Jesus for the gentle way that You work in our hearts. Thank You that You never leave us or forsake us—especially in times where everything seems to be in disarray. Thank You that Your purposes and times of growth will go forth regardless of how much, or how little we stress. Keeping that in mind, I pray that You will keep reminding us how unnecessary stress is and help us to increase our faith in Your timing. So thankful for all that You are doing. In Jesus name, Amen.

What are you needing to trust God with today?

Leave a Reply

