{Marriage} As long As We Both Shall Live….

Written by: Mandy Lawrence-Hill

As long back as I can remember I have loved a good love story.

image

As a child, my love for love began through the courtship of Prince Charming and Cinderella and all those happily-ever-after princesses that followed them. In my pre-teen years I faithfully watched shows like Saved by the Bell, Family Matters and Boy Meets World hoping, so hoping, that Zach and Kelly, Steve and Laura and Corey and Topanga would find their happily-ever-after together. Remember them?

I met my husband, Nathan at the young age of eighteen years old. Our courtship was followed by a romantic proposal and soon after that….our beautiful wedding. Most days I am truly humbled that I have the honour of spending the rest of my life with this amazing man. There are days however, when our marriage doesn’t feel so happily-ever-after.

You know what I have learned, though?

That is ok.

There are going to be days that are beautiful, romantic and lovely. Just the same, there will be days that you will disagree, days that you will feel less connected and days that just plain stink! These highs and lows are biblical:

A time to weep and a time to laugh, a time to mourn and a time to dance.” Ecclesiastes 3:4

Even at the end of the very worst days- I love my husband with my whole heart. We were not called to be princesses living fairy-tale lives, my friends. We have been called for so much greater; to love like the one that IS love– for as long as we both shall live.

Thank You, Jesus for giving us the ultimate love story. For sacrificially laying down Your life so that we could live and live life abundantly. Thank You for the clear, rich and faithful example to us throughout scripture of how we are to love like You love. Please forgive us for the many times we have fallen short. I pray for marriages everywhere that are experiencing a season of hopelessness; make Your presence known to my friends in this very moment. I pray blessings onto my marriage as well as those who read this, in Jesus name. Amen.

Leave a Reply

