{Girl Edition} Who Do You Want To Be?

Written by: Megan Kincheloe

image

Have You Completed Your ‘To Be’ List?

As I started thinking about the students and parents scurrying around to get ready for school to begin this week, I started thinking about the ‘to do’ lists everyone is franticly trying to check off. Most probably look like this:

Get school supplies √
Sign up for sports or extracurricular activities √
Secure uniforms or band instruments √
Get back-to-school haircut √
Sign up for school lunch or decide what to pack √
Pay school fees √
Head to doctor for school physical √
Shop for school clothes/shoes √

And on…and on…and on…

This left me thinking about something even more important than your ‘to do’ list…deciding who you want ‘to be’ as you begin this school year. Some of us look so forward to January 1 each year because the holiday is a good time to ‘start over’, when in reality; we can decide at any time to ‘start over.’ Back to school is another one of those times. There is something that feels so new and fresh about walking through those school doors on the first day of school and facing a new year. Before you walk through those doors this year, I would like to encourage you do decide who you want ‘to be.’ Galatians 5:22-23 is a great place to begin for a ‘to be’ checklist. “But the fruit of the Spirit is:

Love
Joy
Peace
Forbearance
Kindness
Goodness
Faithfulness
Gentleness
Self-Control
Against such things, there is no law.” (NIV)

Decide who you want ‘to be’ sweet girls. Will you represent Christ well? Will you stay in His Word daily and begin your morning in prayer asking Him to create in you a clean heart and to strengthen these ‘fruits’ inside you? There are so many things in this world vying for your attention. Will you keep your eyes focused on Jesus?

Sisters, this is something we should think about when our feet hit the floor each morning…not just when a ‘first day’ is upon us. I want to encourage you with several Scriptures that come to my heart when I think of who I want ‘to be’ in this world.
I want to be loving. Jesus says in John 13:34-35, “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

I want to be an encourager. 1 Thessalonians 5:11 states, “So encourage each other and build each other up, just as you are already doing.”

I want my actions to represent Christ well which means I need to stay rooted in Him. Jesus states in John 15:4, “Remain in me, as I also remain in you. No branch can bear fruit by itself; it must remain in the vine. Neither can you bear fruit unless you remain in me.”

I want my appearance to be a reflection of my heart. 1 Peter 3:3-4 states, “Your beauty should not come from outward adornment, such as elaborate hairstyles and the wearing of gold jewelry or fine clothes. Rather, it should be that of your inner self, the unfading beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which is of great worth in God’s sight.

I want to be a good listener. James 1:19 states, “My dear brothers and sisters, take note of this: Everyone should be quick to listen, slow to speak and slow to become angry.”
I leave you with one question sweet friends…
Who do you want ‘to be?’

One comment

  1. Wow, my thought are almost similar to yours. Yes I want to be an encouraged, a dedicated follower of Christ and a good listener. Help me Father to lift you up today.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

