{Girl Edition} What Do You Crave More than Jesus?

Written by: Megan Kincheloe

image

A while back I was challenged to identify a ‘raging battle’ in my life. The Proverbs 31 Ministries Online Bible Study Blog Team, at that particular time, defined a raging battle as something that “tempts to destroy our emotional, physical, or spiritual well-being.” The topic challenged me to self-reflect and determine what it is that I crave more than God, and I was recently challenged in this same way again. I hoped this would be difficult to identify and was stunned to realize how glaring my craving actually is. Connection. Yes, you heard that right. I crave being connected. This would be a beautiful thing if the craving was to be connected to God. While I do cherish my morning quiet time with Jesus and adore the connection I feel to Him during this time, suddenly I am faced with the remainder of the 24 hour day and my connection craving turns to email, text, Facebook, or Instagram. I don’t know about you but it did not take me long to realize that Jesus doesn’t have any of those things. While I have always said I would LOVE for God to write me a letter, I am pretty sure my expectations aren’t to check my phone and see His name pop up.

Just since I sat down to type this blog, I have received a ‘ding’ from my email and ‘5 dings’ from Facebook notifications. The worst part? I am really great at justification! I NEED to be by my phone in case the school calls about my daughter. I NEED to check my email in case something work-related needs my immediate attention. I NEED to check that text right away in case it is important (I may miss an important lunch invitation). I NEED to respond right away before I forget. I AM EXHAUSTED by the dings and dongs and frankly, my eyes are tired.

I am not one of those people who is burdened by the negativity that sometimes crosses Facebook. In fact, I am convinced that I have the most amazing 700+ friends in the world because I receive so much encouragement from the various posts I see throughout the day and many of them are from some awesome Jesus girls! My email dings most of the time are from inspirational blogs and daily devotionals that I subscribe to. Again, positive information! I realize now though that even positive, Godly information can distract me from Jesus. This distraction also hinders my personal connection to people. In fact, my 2014 phrase was to ‘be intentional’ and my 2015 word is ‘focus.’ Clearly there is a pattern here.

When I resist the urge to check my phone and respond immediately, I am able to sit down and respond with more sincerity in the evenings. I am able to pray over my responses instead of reacting. I am able to write out prayers to send to people or call them and pray with them instead of just saying “I will pray for you.”

Romans 12:2-“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect.” Renewal of my mind…renewal of my mind. As long as I am craving connection to the world, my mind cannot be renewed and I will drown out the voice of God. Discernment will not be able to break through the clutter and I will struggle to hear his will.

1 John 2:15, “Do not love the world or the things in the world. If anyone loves the world, the love of the Father is not in him.” We are commanded to not love the world, however; we are also commanded in John 15:12 to love one another as He has loved us. I want to love each person that God has blessed me with in an intentional way. I want to be the best wife, mother, sister, daughter, and friend that I can possibly be and unless Jesus is my center at all times, this type of love cannot exist.

The raging battle will only exist if we permit it to occupy our inner life. Ephesians 6:11-Put on the whole armor of God, that you may be able to stand against the schemes of the devil.” Sisters, I can promise you that if we are craving anything more than we are craving God, Satan knows it and he will tempt us in our weaknesses in a mighty way. Will you commit with me today to crave God above all else? Let’s pray together. Let’s be intentional about suiting up together. Let’s hold each other accountable. Oh, and one more thing. I had a friend in ministry CALL me several weeks ago. Did you hear me? She CALLED me. I can’t even tell you how blessed I was to be on the phone with her. Nothing was lost in translation. I could hear the tone of her voice. She even prayed over our conversation at the beginning of the call. Try it friends. I can promise it will take your connection so much deeper and what a blessing that can be!

One comment

  1. Love this part Megan!!!! “When I resist the urge to check my phone and respond immediately, I am able to sit down and respond with more sincerity in the evenings. I am able to pray over my responses instead of reacting. I am able to write out prayers to send to people or call them and pray with them instead of just saying “I will pray for you.” So Excellent!

    Like

Leave a Reply

