{Saturdays with Sarah} In Company with a Lion.

Written by: Sarah Walker

This past week, I was the Sunday School teacher for the toddler class at our church. We had 14 little ones sitting on a round red carpet listening very intently to a Scripture passage found in John 21:1-14. It is the story of Jesus helping the disciples catch fish.

I was just about to explain the point of our story when an adorable little boy with dark curls and big brown eyes looked up at me with an earnest and excited confidence and said, “Jesus is with me all the time!”

He is so right!

Be strong and courageous. Do not fear or be in dread of them, for it is the Lord your God who goes with you. He will not leave you or forsake you. (Deuteronomy 31:6)

image

Jesus has many names attributed to Him in Scripture, each one teaching us something new about Him. One of the names given to Him is “The Lion Of Judah.”

The Lion from Tribe Judah, the Root of David’s Tree, has conquered. (Revelation 5:5)

Lions are called the “King of the Jungle,” known for their royal and majestic appearance, and their power over all others. A lion controls his territory and pride like that of a King over his kingdom. A lion is fierce and unafraid to be out in the open and doesn’t need to hide himself or avoid other animals. They are strategic hunters and watch over and protect the members of their pride. A lion is feared, respected and loved by his followers.

What an incredible comparison to the God of the universe!

I recently read the book, “Lioness Arising,” by Lisa Bevere. Within her book she tells a story about a friend who was overwhelmed and afraid to speak at a particular conference. As Lisa encouraged her, she said, “I heard her exhale slowly and sensed her nodding. I knew she wouldn’t be facing this challenge alone. A Lion would stand beside her…. Those who follow Jesus keep the company of a Lion.”

Wow! Those who follow Jesus keep the company of a Lion! Would I act differently if I really believed I walked with a Lion beside me?

This summer we took our kids to a small zoo. This zoo had three lions, one male and two females. As I stared at them through their cage, admiring their beauty and size, I couldn’t help but feel a little fear as I thought about what would happen if the cage were not standing between us. Just watching them inspired fear and awe at their power.

These lions were not on my side – but the God the universe is! He promises to be with me all the time.

“In order to put some fear and trembling back into your Christian devotion, I want you to picture yourself walking in the company of a lion. Who knows: God just might ask you to do something frightening.” (Lisa Bevere)

Like that adorable little boy at church, I know and believe that God is with me all the time. But, when I think of stepping out and doing something I feel that God is calling me to do, especially if it’s a bit scary, I tend to see myself walking out alone, and tend to wonder how “I” am going to do this .

But if I began to imagine that the huge lion from the zoo was walking beside me, fighting for me, protecting me, and preparing the way for me, I know I would be bolder!

If I lived as though I knew that a Lion was walking beside me, it would change everything! I would act differently, feel differently, speak differently, and walk through life differently. That brave and trusting little boy really taught me something that day! I’m to have faith like a little child, and his faith reminded me to live my life simply trusting that God, the Lion, is with me all the time!

Leave a Reply

