{Fall Fresh Series} Melissa’s story.

Written by: Melissa Lefevers

Greetings sweet sisters from way down in the deep south of Baton Rouge, Louisiana. My name is Melissa Lefevers and I am a stay at home mom to three children. Being a stay at home mom is wonderful and can be a challenge at times, but I can say God has taught me so much through the journey. I am excited to share with you one of those special times.

Kneeling on the floor to clean up a mess is nothing new to me but that day the mess seemed larger than life. We sat at the table one Saturday morning laughing and then it happened. My baby girl was giggling and telling a story and swung her arms in just the right place to knock her juice off the table. We watched in horror as the cup hit the floor, bounced and flipped. The table, floor and walls were all newly washed in glistening juice. I rushed to get towels to clean up the sticky mess. As I knelt there cleaning up the mess I felt the same way. A poured out everywhere mess.

Our church was in a tough spot and my husband was on staff and people were hurting, and hurting us as well. I was praying, reading my Bible and telling people God was in control. On the inside was another story, I felt alone and forgotten. So as I sat there cleaning up that mess I asked in a whisper, “Lord what is wrong with me?” Ever so gently He answered, “Where is your joy?”

I thought about that question all day. Truth was I had none. I did not enjoy reading my Bible at the time, I prayed and begged God to show up but felt He was ignoring my request. I encouraged others and it was helping them but it never worked out for me. I know you are thinking, “What kind of believer are you if that was how you feel?” An honest one. I sat and thought about when I was first saved everything brought me joy. My heart swelled at the thought and I flipped open my Bible and read.

Create in me a pure heart, O God, and renew a steadfast spirit within me. Do not cast me from your presence or take your Holy Spirit from me. Restore to me the joy of your salvation, and grant me a willing spirit, to sustain me. Psalm 51:10-12

When I was first saved nothing separated me from that love I felt from God. Every aspect of my life no matter how hard it was brought me joy because I knew God was with me. Everywhere I went I shared Jesus with people. It was this beautiful obsession I had with Jesus. There was joy in all things.

I sat there and prayed. Lord create in me a pure heart. Renew a steadfast spirit with me. Bring back the joy of your salvation. In that moment peace, joy, and loved washed over me. I felt His presence like I hadn’t in a long time.

We need to be washed in that joy of the first time. That pure, giddy, joyous place where we laid down all of life at the feet of Jesus and gave him our life. That sweet release that brought us pure joy because we know God loves us enough to send Jesus to die in our place and everything is taken care of. The joy in knowing we NEVER go through life alone because of the Spirit that now lives with in us.

I have never been the same since I gave my life to Christ in May 2003. I have also never been the same since God reminded me that day that all my joy was found in Him. What a great God we serve. He used a spilled cup of juice to remind me of the joy of my salvation. He reminded me that I don’t have to be a neat cleaned up person but I can be a messy spilled all over person. He loves me with a relentless love and He longs to guide me through life and help me have that steadfast spirit that chases after him in all things.

Do you remember that day you gave it all to Jesus? Get alone with God and just remember. Allow him to wash you in a renewed spirit and the joy of His salvation. Find your joy in Jesus again.

image

About Melissa:

Melissa Lefevers currently lives in Denham Springs, La. She has been married to her wonderful husband for twelve years. They love doing life together and serving God in their local church. They have three very fun children, Violet, John and Holli. Their home is always filled with dirty clothes, chaos, and tons of laughter. Melissa daily seeks to grow in Christ and her biggest passion as a believer is guiding others into a deeper walk with Jesus.

3 comments

  1. wonderfully written!!
    Thank you, I needed this!!!
    Do you have a blog or website?
    I myself live in Louisiana, would love to read or hear more from you.
    Sincerely
    May God Bless you

    Like

Leave a Reply

