{Conversations with Cindy} On the Porch Swing.

Written by:​ Cindy Morrone

image

The sway of the porch swing lulled comfort. On the other end of the phone was my dear friend; no, more than a friend; she is a sister in Christ.

As I lamented into her trusting attention, I freely shared knowing she is a secure place. We start most of our conversations in prayer, asking the Lord to help our interaction be glorifying to Him.

There is no place for slander, gossip, malice or judgment.

There is room for praise, communion, encouragement, and revelation.

As the swinging continued, I poured out my understandings of a series of unfortunate happenings. It was such a difficult time; there was no denying that. In that season, it seemed as though one thing after another happened, pulling me further from all things I believed stable.

She was quiet on the other end. She was quick to listen and endured the litany of listed hardships.

image

Lastly, I bared all, and shared with her my most difficult struggle; my faith was being shaken. With so many hits, all at once, I was tempted to believe that God wouldn’t pull us through. I sounded something like this:

And if all these happenings weren’t enough. Spiritually, I am not doing well. I was ok, I mean I was holding strong with God but this week I struggle. It always feels like I am taking one step forward and countless back in my walk with God.

With a slowness to speak, undoubtedly receiving guidance from our Heavenly, Father, by His Holy Spirit, she responded,

“Perhaps your steps are not backwards; only deeper.”

Deeper…..

“Search me, O God, and know my heart;
test me and know my anxious thoughts.
See if there is any offensive way in me,
and lead me in the way everlasting.”
(Psalm 139: 23 & 24)

…..in the way everlasting,

…..to trust Him more,

…..to receive better the gift of faith.

The swaying of the porch swing stopped with this transformation by the renewing of my mind to truly understand God’s will; His good, pleasing and perfect will (Romans 12: 2).

And in such belief, it was time to step; step out in the faith He had given me and carry on; unshaken!

Leave a Reply

