{Turning Tragedy into Thanksgiving} Nancy’s Story.

Written by: Nancy Silvers

I am not one who handles change very well. I lived in the same home my entire childhood, in fact, my parents didn’t sell our home until I was out of the house for 19 years. At the age of 59 I can count on both hands, with fingers left over, the number homes I’ve lived in my life and on one hand the number of jobs I’ve had.

My husband is a biker and introduced me to long distance motorcycle trips. Living in a very urban part of NJ at the time we took every opportunity to jump on the bike and put some miles on it. If we weren’t working we were riding. Each summer we took trips from NJ to the Ozark Mts. I loved getting away and hated coming home. I loved my job but I hated living in the city, specially after 9/11.

August 2004 we did our usual summer trip to the Ozarks-about 3000 miles round trip with near perfect weather. The Sunday after we got home we decided to take a ride to a friends church-the Pastor is a biker and preaches the Word of God with amazing passion. We were about 2 1/2 miles from home and just passed through the NJ Turnpike toll booth. We entered the ramp leading to the next highway when I looked up and all I remember seeing was a red car hood and saying “God help us”. The next thing I remember is hearing this horrendous groaning and then realizing it was coming from me. The car with the red hood was driven by someone who thought the best way to get to the toll was to pass four cars, crossing the double yellow line, on an uphill blind curve. I landed in the middle of the lane coming in the opposite direction. Thankfully, the on coming traffic saw what was about to happen and stopped or I would have been killed by the secondary hit.

Witnesses said it looked like I was caught and laid down on the pavement-for a long time I resentfully wished my angel had dropped me a little softer so I would have avoided all my injuries, some of which I still deal with today. While I was lying on the ground I distinctly heard someone say, without an audible voice, “it’s going to be a long haul but you are going to be ok.” After that I had an odd sense of peace that can only come from God.

This once very self sufficient woman, who had lived in the same place a long time, worked at the same job for 15 years suddenly had to depend on others to take care of her. My husband was injured too so we went from two good salaries to temporary disability. For the first time in many years, I was not earning a living. We both needed surgeries and physical therapy. The man that hit us had very minimal insurance and no assets so we didn’t recover very much. Did I mention that financial stability was the biggest strong hold the enemy had on me? I had to have major back surgery in March 2005. I couldn’t go back to work permanently. We had to borrow money to make our mortgage. One morning my husband came to me and said, “You will never guess what I think we are supposed to do!” I answered him, “Move to the Ozarks?” God had given us both the same dream that night. The next night my husband couldn’t sleep so he went on the Internet to check out properties and one kept coming up. Unbelievably, the next day a realator showed up on our doorstep and said “I know your building is not for sale but I have an interested buyer.” There were lots of things that should not have fallen into place but we kept saying “if it’s God’s will, it will happen” and happen it did! We now live in the Ozarks in that home that kept coming up-mortgage free!

Through this experience I grew so much closer to God- I HAD to depend on Him- my self-sufficiency was stripped away.

I firmly believe if we didn’t have the accident we would still be living in the same building, I’d be doing the same job and living self sufficiently. Today, I trust Jesus, I’ve become a prayer warrior, volunteer with Proverbs Online Bible study and several other ministries. That accident was one of the best things that ever happened to us!

image

About Nancy:

Nancy and her husband live in NE Arkansas in the Ozarks. They have two fur babies and foster others when they are needed. Nancy volunteers with several ministries that fit her disability since they only require a few hours a month. She recently started blogging and has a book in the works. You can read more of Nancy’s writing at: http://www.livingfromgrace.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

