{Saturdays with Sarah} The Promise Keeper.

Written by: Sarah Walker

image

“The Lord is trustworthy in all that He promises and faithful in all that He does.” (Psalm 145:13)

I have recently been studying the Scriptures concerning the promises of God. The Bible is filled with promises that God has given to us, and promises about His character, and who He is.

God made Abraham a promise, “I will make you into a great nation, and I will bless you; I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing. I will bless those who bless you, and whoever curses you I will curse; and all the peoples on earth will be blessed through you.” (Genesis 12:1-3)

This promise was hard to believe when it was given! Abraham was already seventy-five-years-old, and childless. After a while of waiting, Abraham questioned God: “Sovereign Lord, what can you give me since I remain childless and the one who will inherit my estate is Eliezer of Damascus?” And Abram said, “You have given me no children; so a servant in my household will be my heir.” (Genesis 15:2)

To this God replied, “This man will not be your heir, but a son who is your own flesh and blood will be your heir.” He took him outside and said, “Look up at the sky and count the stars—if indeed you can count them.” Then he said to him, “So shall your offspring be.” (Genesis 15:4-5)

After an incredibly long wait, Abraham’s wife, Sarah gave birth to a son named Isaac. God had delivered on the promise! Abraham and Sarah had to wait twenty-five years to see their promise fulfilled, but even through the ups and downs in their season of waiting, their hope remained in the Lord.

God proved that the Lord is trustworthy in all that He promises and faithful in all that He does!

When I was a young child, my parents instilled in me the importance and practice of tithing. Even when I wandered from God in my teen and young adult years, strangely enough, I still continued to tithe my money to God. And my finances were blessed because I did, even in those wandering years! He is faithful!

During my college years, I did not go to church. I wasn’t in a great place. Still, I would collect my tithe money for weeks and weeks and keep it tucked safety away in my desk drawer; when I finally had a substantial amount collected, I would give my money to my Grandma, and she would put it into the offering plate for me on Sunday morning.

One time, after a few months of collecting my tithe, I had a thought to give my tithe to a lady I knew. The amount that had collected was $293 by that point. Now, I was taught that my tithe should go to my church (and I still believe this is true today!), so I took a few days contemplating whether or not I should give the money to her. After a few days I still felt strongly that this lady should have the money. It was an unusual situation, but I decided to give the money away to this woman, which I did one day, dropping the $293 into her hand and walking away.

What I had no idea about was that this lady had been incredibly distressed because she didn’t have enough money to cover her bills that month. She had been crying out to God for help. She was working three jobs and still didn’t have enough to pay her mortgage.

And my God will meet all your needs according to the riches of His glory in Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:19)

Soon after, that lady came to find me, with a shocked expression on her face and with tears in her eyes. She told me that for the last few days she had been praying like crazy for God to help her find the money to pay her mortgage that month.

As it turns out – she was exactly $293 short!

God is in control, and He is faithful! “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” (Jeremiah 29:11)

God knew she was going to need extra help that month, He knew how much she needed, and even though I wasn’t walking with Him, He still used someone to help her in her time of need – because He is faithful.

We can trust God to keep His promises! We might have to wait for it, like Abraham and Sarah, or we might have to wait just a few days like this woman did; either way we can trust God to be faithful to fulfill His promises to us!

Leave a comment