{Ministry Mom} It’s All We Have To Give.

Written By: Mandy Lawrence-Hill

Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.
(Proverbs 22:6)

While scrolling through my news feed on Facebook recently, a post about children caught my eye. It looked like this:

image

My heart was stirred by this. At first, to be honest I wasn’t sure why. It seemed like a pretty truthful statement to me. However, as the day went on I became more and more troubled by it.

I was changing my youngest’s diaper this morning when I literally prayed: “Ok God, please tell me what you want me to take from this. I’m curious; and I’m listening.

In the still of that moment he reminded me of the verse from (Proverbs 22:6 NLT) “Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.”
I thought, well, sure! I’ve heard that lots of times before…..

But then the wisdom I had been praying for, came fast and furious. Yes, it IS true that some adults DO act grumpy, disrespectful and carry around a pretty bad attitude. However, regardless of how us adults act, we are still responsible to direct our children in the way of righteousness; so that they ‘know’.

The truth is, WE have NO excuses. At some point in our lives our parents, guardians, teachers, etc took time to show us how to respectfully act in hopes that we would carry that through into adulthood. These little people have been entrusted to us by the Almighty One himself – to both instruct and exemplify how we should act. At this stage their grumpy, disrespectful, bad attitudes are our responsibility to correct – regardless of how any other adult acts (ourselves included).

image

Of course, no one is perfect. We are not; they are not. It’s irrational even to assume for a moment that we have the ability to raise a perfect person – or BE a perfect person. But we have been given the responsibility to do our best.

That’s all we have to give.

Gracious and Heavenly Father, thank You so much for trusting my husband and I to raise up these children in Your ways. I pray that we will never cease to seek Your wisdom above the influence of our culture. We commit to directing them onto the right path. In Jesus name, amen.

Leave a Reply

