{Saturdays with Sarah} Under the Microscope.

Written By: Sarah Walker

Recently I have been studying various scriptures about how God “sees” us.

“From heaven the Lord looks down and sees all mankind; from His dwelling place He watches all who live on earth.” (Psalm 33:13-14)

“The eyes of the Lord are on the righteous and His ears are attentive to their cry.” (Psalm 34:5).

These verses fill me with a sense of awe and wonderment! When I think of how God is watching over me and is attentive to the sound of my voice, I am filled with a deep sense of peace and love from my Saviour!

But then I came across this verse:

“The Lord is in His heavenly temple, the Lord is on His heavenly throne. He observes the sons of men; His eyes examine them. The Lord examines the righteous.” (Psalm 11:4-5).

I was still in awe that the God of the universe watches over me, but to hear that He is also examining me made me feel a bit anxious at what He might be finding!

It made me question: how many times do I choose to act or respond in the wrong way, or how often are my inner thoughts and attitudes not what they should be? It is hard to think about God examining me, because when I examine myself, I don’t always like what I see.

I love that John 13:1 says that Jesus was coming to the end of His time on earth, and “Having loved His own who were in the world, He now showed them the full extent of His love.” Even though Jesus, the “examiner,” knew His disciple’s everyday sinfulness, and even more, knew those who would eventually deny and betray and abandon Him, He still got on His hands and knees and washed their feet.

Not only did He become like a lowly servant to show His love and care for them, He also laid down His life for them despite all of their present and future failures.

And He laid down his life for you and me, despite all of our present and future failures!

“For you have died and your life is hidden with Christ in God. When Christ who is our life, is revealed, then you also will be revealed with Him in glory” (Colossians 3:3-4)
12182056_10156288931915372_1203180999_n
The verse above says that even though I still struggle with sin, even so when the perfect, holy, and righteous God looks at me, no longer does He see my sin and shame, because I am tucked in safe with Jesus and His perfect righteousness! When He looks at me, He still sees me – but now He sees me joined with Jesus’ perfection. Because of this, the Lord’s eyes on me are a lot less scary, and a lot more hopeful, and gives me a lot of reasons to praise Him!

2 comments

  1. Dear Sarah, you still and always amaze me with your way with words. I love reading what you write. So glad I know you. Thank you for your encouragement.

    Like

Leave a Reply

