{Girl Edition} Daddy Can…

Written by: Megan Kincheloe

I write this post with somewhat of a heavy heart. Our local community feels like it is in a tornado of turmoil after weeks and weeks of energy leading up to election day this past Tuesday. There was more emotion surrounding two of these local races than I have ever felt over even a presidential election. Friendships were torn apart, people feared job losses, and rumors spread like wildfire. The whole thing felt SO BIG and the residue of broken hearts remains widespread.

image

As election night came to an end and a new day was upon us, I was reminded of a conversation I recently had with our daughter. Her Daddy was carrying her brother around the house on a morning that she was particularly tired. She said, “Mommy, I wish Daddy could carry us all around, don’t you?” I replied, “I sure do, honey!” I started to think about the weight of the world that Daddy’s already carry on their shoulders and immediately my thoughts drifted to our Heavenly Father. You see, our earthly fathers can’t physically carry us all around but our Heavenly Father can.

Jesus says in Matthew 11:28-30, “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (NIV) Sit right there a moment Sisters…soak that in.

While this week seems like a particularly burdensome one around here, there are many times that even a typical Thursday becomes burdened with a hurt or stress of some kind. I took this opportunity to reach out and offer prayer to anyone who was struggling and needed support. I was flooded with replies, private messages, and texts from friends struggling with hurt, fear, worry, health issues, relationship issues, confusion, and sadness. I found myself asking out loud to nobody in particular, “What is going on with this world??” And in those words…I found my answer. We are living in the world. Grasping for answers that we may never have this side of Heaven and may never have period. Blaming others and refusing to look deep within ourselves. Yet…in all of this, His presence is inescapable. There is nowhere we can hide from the comfort of His hand, the embrace of His arms, or the warmth of His lap. Not one of these issues listed above are too big for Him. Not one. Not even all of them put together and then some.

Let these words permeate your soul. Jesus says in John 14:1, “Don’t let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God, and trust also in me.” (NLT)

He’s got this. He’s got you. You are in the palms of His more than capable hands and there is no better place to be. This Daddy can.

3 comments

Leave a Reply

