{Saturdays with Sarah} Words Written Within My Heart

Written by: Sarah Walker

Bind these words on your heart always; tie them around your neck. When you walk, they will lead you; when you lie down, they will watch over you; and when you awake, they will talk with you. (Proverbs 6:21-22)

Each month my children learn a new Bible verse at church. The verse will stay the same for the entire month, and will be repeated often whenever their class gets together on Sunday mornings. The verses are recited with lots of inflection and are accompanied with fun and funny actions, which help the kids to remember each one. Repetition is a great way for kids to learn (and adults too!).

Each night in our house, we say the month’s Bible verse as a part of our bedtime prayers, but once we are finished saying this month’s verse, my daughter insists on saying all of the verses that she has learned so far.

Joined with actions and lots of energy, our nightly routine sounds like this:

‘The plans of the Lord stand firm forever!

Be strong and courageous, do not be afraid; for the Lord your God goes with you!

My God will meet all your needs!

I have loved you with a love that lasts forever!

God’s way is perfect!

Nothing can separate us from the love of God!”

As a mom, my heart is full hearing their little voices speak out God’s word with so much excitement! Going over these verses has become a big part of our bedtime routine. Not only that, I have memorized them too! I have found that not only am I helping to write God’s truth on their hearts and minds, I have been writing it on my own as well!

I was unsure of my ability to take on something new this week, and in my moment of doubt, all of a sudden a common phrase entered my mind: “Be strong and Courageous, do not be afraid; for the Lord your God goes with you.” The words that we repeat as a family every night sprung into my thoughts, reminding me of God’s promise, and immediately changing my attitude toward the project at hand.

There was another time recently when my inner attitude towards someone was less than loving. I was beating myself up about my bad attitude. Suddenly, the words came to mind, “Nothing can separate us from the love of God,” and “12212458_10156328759975372_5370977_nI have loved you with a love that last forever,” two more verses from our bedtime repetition. Remembering those verses stopped me from traveling down the road where I would question how God could love me and my sinfulness.

To be honest, I have not put so much time and energy into memorizing Scripture since I was a child in Sunday school, when I would memorize Bible verses for a candy prize. Now I realize what a valuable exercise that was, and how I wish I had done more of this in my life! God’s Word encourages us, convicts us, protects us, and leads us, and we never do wrong by reading it, speaking it and committing it to memory.

2 comments

  1. Hey Sarah:
    You did a great job on this. I’m sorry to say I never spent enough time in memorizing scripture. Over the years I’ve learn’t a lot but don’t ask me where to find it. That is one of my downfalls. It is amazing how the Holy Spirit brings to mind just the right scripture that has been packed away in the cluttered file cabinet of our mind at just the right time when needed.
    I’m Proud of you Sarah keep up the memorizing and writing.
    Lots of Love, Grandpa O

    I’ve proud of you, keep on memorizing and writing.

    Like

Leave a Reply

