{Ministry Mom} Resting in the blessings.

Written By: Mandy Hill

He gives you what your heart desires; Accomplishing your plans. (Psalm 20:4 MSG)

About a year ago I got to hold not one, but two precious little miracles; straight from God! A very good friend of mine, had adorable twin babies.

As I held these little miracles, I recalled a gray-er time in my life, when the hope of holding my own baby seemed lost.

My husband and I went through a difficult season of infertility. There were days when I allowed the longing to hold my own baby to take over, turning into what felt like desperation. However, I also remember often experiencing a beautiful peace. It was when I opened my heart to the truth (that the desires I had to have a baby were from God), that I was able to find hope amidst this struggle.

God’s timing is spectacular, sister. Sometimes we get so caught up in making our own plans, that we forget to check-in with His. Our infertility lasted only for a season; and while difficult a season it was…new life came in God’s perfect time.

I never want to forget the longing, the prayers, or the desperation from that time in my life. With every baby’s kick, every sound of that heart beat, and every sonogram, I want to rest in my blessings. With every snuggle, every cry, every feed, and every first, I want to remember where my hope comes from. With every new challenge in parenting, every fever, every moment needing discipline, and every single tantrum; I want to praise my God for this amazing privilege He’s allowed me to experience: being a Mommy.

Sister, are you in a tough season of ‘waiting’ for your blessing to come? Please cling tightly to our scripture from today: May he give you the desire of your heart, and make all your plans succeed. Psalms 20:4 (NIV)

…..And while you wait, remember to rest in the blessings along the way.

Thank You, Heavenly Father for the many blessings You have given to me; for the four precious miracles You have blessed me with! Please help me to never forget the beauty in the ‘waiting’, and may I always see the blessings along every season of this journey called life! You are SO good to us, Jesus, and we praise You for Your faithfulness and goodness to us. In Your name, amen,

Leave a comment